2019 UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education (US$ 50,000 Award)

UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education

UNESCO has launched the call for nominations for the 2019 UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education. The Prize annually awards US$ 50,000 to two outstanding laureates.

Governments of UNESCO Member States and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO are now invited to nominate up to three individuals, institutions or organizations who have made strong contributions in favour of girls’ and women’s education. Interested candidates should contact the National Commission for UNESCO of their country, or an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO to be considered for nomination

Nominated projects must meet the eligibility and selection criteria set by the Prize. They must be established and running for at least two years, show potential to be replicable and scalable, and contribute to one or more of the priority areas of the Prize.


Based on the recommendations of the Jury, the Director-General of UNESCO will announce the 2019 laureates who will receive the award at an official ceremony at UNESCO Headquarters on 11 October 2019.

Established in 2015 and funded by the Government of the People’s Republic of China, the Prize honours outstanding and innovative practices advancing girls’ and women’s education. It consists of two US $50,000 awards to help further the work of laureates in this field.

Nominations must be submitted in English or French via the online platform, only accessible to UNESCO Member States and NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO. This platform can be opened to external candidates at the Member States’ or NGOs’ request. Nominations will be assessed by an independent International Jury of five experts on the basis of the project’s potential for impact, innovation and sustainably.

To get more, join Diplomacy Opportunities Facebook Group, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram 

To Apply

Click here to apply

Deadline for submissions is 28 May 2019 (midnight, Paris time).

Selection Criteria

The two Prize laureates will be selected by UNESCO’s Director-General on the basis of
recommendations made by the independent International Jury of the UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education, consisting of five experts from all geographical regions.

The nominations will only be considered if the project/programme:

• has a clear focus on advancing girls’ and women’s education, and the promotion of gender equality in and through education, and contributes to one or more of the five priority areas of the Prize:

  1. Participation: Supporting girls to transition from primary education to lower-secondary education and to complete full basic education
  2. Literacy: Supporting adolescent girls and young women to acquire literacy skills
  3. Environment: Supporting the creation of a gender-responsive and safe teaching-learning environment
  4. Teachers: Engaging teachers to be change agents with gender-responsive teaching
    attitudes and practices
  5. Skills: Supporting girls and women to acquire knowledge/skills for life and work
    • has already been running for at least two years; and
    • shows evidence that it may be replicable, scalable and/or provide significant learning potential for initiatives in other contexts

To get more, join Diplomacy Opportunities Facebook Group, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram 

Read more on UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education website