ASSAf-TWAS-AAAS Regional Workshop on Science Diplomacy (Fully Funded) | Diplomacy Opportunities

ASSAf-TWAS-AAAS Science Diplomacy
ASSAf-TWAS-AAAS Science Diplomacy

The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) are seeking candidates to participate in the inaugural regional training workshop on science diplomacy to be held in South Africa, from 21 to 25 May 2018

This training workshop is designed for young scientists (below the age of 40) living and working in sub-Saharan Africa and whose research and wider engagement has brought them into the international policy-making arena, as well as policymakers and diplomats interested in some of the central science-based themes that might influence their work, and representatives from NGOs and other sectors working at the science-diplomacy interface. Applications are invited from young scientists (up to the age of 40), as well as scientists and/or government officials, etc., with more experience in the policymaking arena (‘science diplomacy ambassadors’).

Join Diplomacy Opportunities Facebook group here and follow @DiplomacyOpp on Twitter

Economy class flights, local transport and accommodation in South Africa will be covered for selected participants. A limited number of spaces for self-funded and partially-funded candidates will also be available. We encourage applicants to seek support from their institutions and to include a plan for how they will apply the newly gained knowledge and skills back in their organisation.

To apply:

Click here to apply

Deadline: February 9, 2018

Women from Science & Technology Lagging Countries (STLCs) are especially encouraged
to apply. These countries include: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Successful candidates will be informed in late March 2018. An expert committee
established by ASSAf, TWAS and AAAS will review the applications received.

Join Diplomacy Opportunities Facebook group here and follow @DiplomacyOpp on Twitter

Visit the official page of the ASSAf-TWAS-AAAS Regional Workshop on Science Diplomacy here.